Well was going to start donating plasma, but i forgot that they would think i was a high risk donor. Thus saying that i cant. The reason i am high risk? plain and simple, im a gay man. Or how they put it, "had a sexual encounter with another man since 1977" And while it is easier to catch HIV thru gay sex due to easier tears allowing the virus into the blood stream. But in todays day and age, everyone is able to catch it, no matter gay straight ect. If you have sex you are able to catch it.
The more education you have about it and how to protect yourself the lower risk you have, this is why the amount of people in under developed countries are more prone to catching it. They have no been educated on it or how to prevent against catching it.
In my case, it been a while since i have had sex, lets just say i have been tested 3 times; two world AIDS days, and then a full blood test since my last sexual encounter. And all have come back clean. Most of the signs show up by this time, and show up in the blood work within 6 months. All of which have passed. When asked if i have ever experienced any of the basic symptoms, none of them have ever happened to me in my lifetime. But further more, they have to do a complete blood test before and it came back clear.
Thats makes me mad, but what really pisses me off is they said that i can never give plasma even tho they scan each time for any viruses. I have been tested 5 times within the past 6 years, and been clean everytime. And am healthy. While the other people that come into the lab are quite physically sick, out of shape and sometimes it takes them 3 times to pass the general test each time to even donate. And in the end they are still on the high end of having a bad donation.
And what further pisses me off is that i was asked to take my bottle of water with me, like she could not touch the bottle at all. Which was so 1980's/90's of them.
Its so annoying to think that they have the tech and such to check for any virus, and have many safe protocols in place but at the same time think that only the gays are of high risk. Many lower class and under educated people in urban blight neighborhoods are at much of a risk as well.
I just wish they would catch up with the times already.
No comments:
Post a Comment